Author A to Z

Maggie Freeman

Maggie Freeman

Maggie has always loved telling stories. She began by writing children’s books for her sons when they were little, and went on to write primary literacy non-fiction books for Collins and Oxford.

The research she had to do for these got her hooked on doing historical research, and made her want to write historical novels. Cymberie is set in the late 1500s in a semi-fictional Essex (where Maggie lives); Daughter of the Sea follows the adventures of a fictional daughter of Sir Francis Drake; and The Clock-Mender is set in rural Sweden in the 30s.

Maggie also writes poetry and short stories, and gives talks and readings. She teaches Creative Writing in Adult Education.

You can find her on Twitter   @maggie_freeman

It's a fact

Male readers prefer fantasy romance while female readers prefer historical romances.