RNA Industry Awards

The Romantic Novelists’ Association has benefited from the support, through membership and friendship, of many people – publishers, editors and agents and other industry professionals since its inception.

Everyone involved in our industry fully understands that a wonderfully written story and indeed a beautifully produced book is not just the work of the author but the work of many. And once a work has been produced, in order for it to be successful many more people become involved in what is a truly collaborative process.

Which is why, in 2015 the RNA launched its own Industry Awards, enabling us to acknowledge and thank the professionals who support our work, our genre and our association.

The RNA Industry Awards are decided by the membership. All members are eligible to nominate in each and every category, and must be received by the deadline on the nomination form, which can be downloaded at the bottom of this page.

The categories for 2016 are:

  • Romantic Bookseller of the Year
  • Best Adaptation of a Romantic Novel
  • Media Star of the Year
  • Agent of the Year
  • Publisher of the Year

In 2015, the inaugural awards were presented to :
Bookseller of the Year Award : WHSmith Travel Book Buyer, Matthew Bates, for his enthusiasm and passion for books and for championing many of our members’ books, turning them into bestsellers.
Best Adaptation of a Romantic Novel : Debbie Horsfield for her adaptation of the hugely successful Poldark series.
Media Star : The hugely popular blogging and social media phenomenon, a group of eight ladies known as The Romaniacs who describe themselves as kindred spirits with a love for writing, and have become a source of constant inspiration to others.


Related files available for download:

It's a fact

In 2013, 1 in every 8 fiction books purchased in the UK was romance.