RNA Outstanding Achievement Award

The Romantic Novelists’ Association has been blessed with the support, through membership and friendship, of many people – publishers, editors and agents and other industry professionals. Many have talked at our functions, helped fund our activities and given a chance to our new writers over the years. And a great many romantic novelists have brought immeasurable pleasure to countless people around the world through their wonderful stories, flawlessly told.

In the world of literary prizes there are precious few that are given out to the backroom staff – the people whose names never appear on the covers of books and only occasionally in the ‘acknowledgements’ and yet, without whom most authors couldn’t function.

Equally, there are few prizes for books whose sole purpose is to entertain. Genre fiction, which does this unashamedly, tends to get more brickbats than gongs–although the sales figures for crime, romance and the other popular genres remain satisfyingly large.

The RNA’s Outstanding Achievement Award is presented at the committee’s discretion for any outstanding achievement whether in the field of publishing, writing or supporting romantic fiction.’

The RNA’s first Lifetime Achievement Awards honoured Lucilla Andrews, Rosamund Pilcher and Mary Stewart at a glittering event in the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh in August 2006. 

Awards were made in 2009 to independent publishers Judy Piatkus and John Hale. 

Authors Joanna Trollope and Maeve Binchy were honoured by the RNA in 2010.

In 2011, Outstanding Achievement Awards were presented to best-selling authors Josephine Cox and Penny Jordan.

In 2012, Karin Stoecker, Editorial Director of Harlequin Mills & Boon from 1994 – 2011 was presented with the award.

Best-selling novelist Sophie Kinsella was honoured in 2013.

Two awards were presented in 2014. Helen Fielding, author of the popular Bridget Jones novels, which defined the romantic angst of a generation, and Dr. David Hessayon, long-tme supporter of the RNA's New Writers' Scheme were both honoured.

In 2015, Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews, both bestselling authors of more than 25 novels, were presented with outstanding achievement awards for their continued championing of the RNA and romantic fiction.

In 2016, Anita Burgh, the author of twenty three novels all published after she reached 50 and Claire Lorrimer, who has written more than 100 novels, were presented with outstanding achievement awards for their continued support for the RNA and romantic fiction.

It's a fact

Historical romance represented 13% of all romance books sold 2013.