RNA Awards

For just over fifty years, the Romantic Novelists’ Association has recognised and given awards for the very best in romantic fiction, with its ‘Romantic Novel of the Year’ and its ‘Love Story of the Year’ Awards. The awards are constantly evolving to keep pace with changes in the genre. Further Awards for Romantic Comedy of the Year and Historical Romantic Novel of the Year were added in 2011 and in 2012, the Awards were further extended, restructured and renamed. And in 2015, the RoNA Rose award, which was previously announced separately, was included as a category for the first time, competing with the others for the overall prize. In 2017 we will be making an award for the Paranormal and Speculative Romantic Novel for the first time.

At the awards ceremony in March each year, the seven RoNAs (Romantic Novel Awards) are announced.  They are awarded to the winners of seven specific categories of romantic novel - Contemporary, Epic, Historical, Paranormal and Speculative, Romantic Comedy, Young Adult and the RoNA Rose (for shorter/category romance).  The winning books then go forward to a panel of judges who select an overall winner, who receives the Romantic Novel of the Year Award and our lovely trophy.  The winner of the RoNA Rose category also receives the Rose Bowl.

Each year, the RNA celebrates the best writing from among its own members with awards for both published and unpublished work. These awards are the Joan Hessayon New Writers’ Scheme Award, the Katie Fforde Bursary and the Elizabeth Goudge Trophy.

For latest information about the awards, please visit our News pages.

It's a fact

Male readers prefer fantasy romance while female readers prefer historical romances.