2016 Industry Awards Shortlist Announced

Saturday 12 November 2016

The Romantic Novelists’ Association has announced the shortlist for its second annual Industry Awards, which recognises those people who have made a significant contribution in 2016 to the success and sales of romantic fiction. The awards will be presented on 16th November at a ceremony in London in front of an audience of romance writers, publishers and agents.

This year sees the addition of two new awards, Agent of the Year and Publisher of the Year. However, the awards were judged prior to the very sad and sudden death of legendary Literary Agent Carole Blake, who had been informed she was shortlisted and was delighted and determined to come along. In light of this, the committee has taken the decision to announce that Carole Blake had won The Agent of the Year Award, which will be awarded posthumously on the night. There will also be a tribute to her in recognition of her professional contribution and the high personal regard in which she was held by all.

The shortlist comprises:
Agent of the Year (new award)
Winner: Carole Blake, agent and co-founder of Blake Friedmann Literary Agency
Runner Up: Lizzy Kremer, Director and Head of the Books Department, David Higham Associates

Bookseller of the Year
Blackwells Bookshop, Lancaster University
Goldsboro Books, David Headley, Managing Director

Media Star of the Year
Jo Good, Presenter, BBC Radio London
Kim Nash, Publicity and Social Media Manager, Bookouture

Best Adaptation of a Romantic Novel
Diana Gabaldon and Ronald D. Moore for Outlander
Jojo Moyes for Me Before You

Publisher of the Year (new award)
Oliver Rhodes, Managing Director and Publisher, Bookouture
Kimberley Young, Publisher, HarperFiction

Share this story:

Share |

It's a fact

In 1991, founding RNA member Barbara Cartland was made a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire.