Joan Hessayon Award 2013

Award to be announced on May 16th.

Monday 8 April 2013

Each year the Romantic Novelists' Association recognises the work of its own members. The Joan Hessayon New Writers' Scheme Award, which has been run by the RNA since 1962, aims to encourage fresh talent.

Manuscripts submitted by unpublished New Writers Scheme members are read by experienced writers or editors. Any manuscript subsequently published as a debut novel becomes eligible for the Award - provided the author is still a member of the RNA.

The Joan Hessayon Award is sponsored by Dr David Hessayon in honour of his late wife Joan, who was a longstanding member of the RNA and a great supporter of the New Writers' Scheme.

This year there are nine contenders for the Award, they are:

Joss Alexander : Tainted Innocence published by Carina Press
Jenny Barden : Mistress of the Sea published by Ebury Press/Random House
Serena Clarke : All Over the Place published by Crimson Romance
Henriette Gyland : Up Close published by Choc Lit
Liz Harris : The Road Back published by Choc Lit
Carol McGrath : The Handfasted Wife published by Accent Press
Cathy Mansell : Shadow Across the Liffey, published by Tirgearr Publishing
Liesel Schwarz : A Conspiracy of Alchemists published by Ebury Press/DelRey
Anne Stenhouse : Mariah's Marriage published by MuseItUp Publishing

See images of the contenders in our photo gallery.

The award will be presented on May 16th at the RNA Summer Party in London.

Share this story:

Share |

It's a fact

Women prefer to do it in bed and men prefer to do it in a chair—read that is.